Jul 14, 2014; Minneapolis, MN, USA; American League shortstop Derek Jeter (2) and catcher Salvador Perez (13) of the Kansas City Royals wait to take batting practice during workout day the day before the 2014 MLB All Star Game at Target Field. Mandatory Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

San Diego Padres Home Run Derby History

San Diego, CA- Tonight is the 2014 Major League Baseball Home Run Derby competition.

This year’s home run derby field includes Troy Tulowitzki, Yasiel PuigGiancarlo Stanton, Justin Morneau, Josh DonaldsonBrian Dozier, Yoenis Cespedes, Adam Jones and Jose Bautista.

In honor of tonight’s event, here’s a look at how the San Diego Padres have fared in their history at the Home Run Derby.

1985 – Steve Garvey

Steve Garvey represented the San Diego Padres in the first ever Major League Baseball Home Run Derby in Minneapolis at the Metrodome. Garvey had two home runs for the National League.

1992 – Gary Sheffield and Fred McGriff

In 1992 the San Diego Padres hosted their only All-Star game in franchise history at Jack Murphy Stadium. Gary Sheffield and Fred McGriff represented the San Diego Padres. Sheffield had four home runs and McGriff had three home runs for the National League. Sheffield finished tied for third behind Ken Griffey Jr. and Mark McGwire

2009 – Adrian Gonzalez

In 2009 Adrian Gonzalez represented the San Diego Padres in the home run derby in St. Louis at Busch Stadium. That season Gonzalez had his best season with the Padres, as he hit 40 home runs for the first time in his career, led Major League Baseball in home runs at the end of the 1st half and was selected to his second career All-Star Game. Padres fans and many around the game expected Gonzalez to win, but unfortunately he didn’t make it out of the first round with only two home runs.

Tags: Home Run Derby MLB All-Star Game San Diego Padres

comments powered by Disqus